Press Release

The Steering Committee on Reforms chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation has led to the development of a 10-year strategy for reforming Nigeria’s Public Service. The strategy is founded on four pillars each led by a named Agency. They are Improving the Governance and Institutional Environment led by the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; Improving the Socio-Economic Environment led by the Ministry of Budget and National Planning; Improving Public Financial Management led by the Ministry of Finance; and Improving Civil Service Administration led by the Office of the Head of the Civil Service.

The Bureau of Public Service Reforms has developed a guide on “How to Manage and Reform Government Agencies and Parastatals”.

The document provides practical guidance to Chief Executives of Agencies and Parastatals on best practice in managing Government establishments. It covers issues such as managing Boards, Procurement, Human Resource Management, Financial Management, Service Delivery and Change Management.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation Engr. Babachir David Lawal has approved the reconstitution of the White Paper Implementation Committee on the Restructuring and Rationalisation of Agencies, Parastatals and Commissions.
The members are Secretary to the Government of the Federation (Chairman), Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Ministers of Transportation, Education, Finance, Health, Industry, Trade and Investment, Science and Technology and Information and Culture, Minister of State for Transportation (Aviation), Chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission and Dr. Joe Abah, Director General of BPSR as Secretary.

It will be recalled that the Bureau of Public Service Reforms (BPSR) was part of the Committee on the Review of the mandate, functions and Structure of Ministries inaugurated by the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation Mrs Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita on 17th November, 2015 sequel to the reduction of the number of Ministries to twenty four by government.
 The Committee submitted its report in January 2016 with a recommendation that BPSR should lead a team of organizational development experts from Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation to deepen the work on restructuring all Ministries.

Abuja: March 23 2016: Right To Know (R2K), Nigeria and the Bureau for Public Service Reforms (BPSR) today launched the newly re-designed BPSR website (, with a Freedom of Information portal designed to receive electronic FOI requests. This innovative website which is the first of it’s kind by any public institution in Nigeria has made it possible for the BPSR to fulfill it’s various obligations under the FOI Act in order to promote openness and facilitate public access to information and documents held by the institution.

While handing over the re-designed website to BPSR, R2K’s Coordinator, Ene Nwankpa stated that “BPSR as the major government institution that drives reforms among public institutions in Nigeria, has demonstrated an exemplary and bold approach that nothing negative occurs when a public institution opens up it’s operations to more public access and scrutiny, this ingenuity should be followed suit by all public institutions in Nigeria”.

In his reaction the Director General of the BPSR Dr. Joe Abah stated that “Initiating reforms and introducing innovations is one of the key functions of the Bureau of Public Service Reforms and we are proud to be the first government agency in Nigeria to have an electronic platform for receiving Freedom of Information requests. BPSR is grateful for the support of R2K on this very laudable initiative.”

This initiative, which is supported by the MacArthur Foundation is part of an on-going partnership between BPSR and R2K, Nigeria which is geared towards utilizing information technology for information disclosure, both proactively as well as, on demand. The website’s FOI Portal will allow the public submit real time online FOI requests, receive feedback and has also made provision for appeals as well as reviewing cases of any wrongful denial of information by BPSR officials.

R2K, Nigeria and BPSR calls on all public institutions in Nigeria to commence similar processes that would facilitate their easy compliance with the provisions of the FOI Act, which would help enshrine a culture of openness, facilitate public access to information and improve governance in Nigeria.

BPSR and R2K, Nigeria remain committed to promoting open and democratic government in Nigeria through advocacy for the full implementation of the FOI Act.

  • Visit; Right To Know, Nigeria on, Twitter @r2knigeria, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., call 09 – 2918795.
  • Visit: Bureau for Public Service Reforms on, Twitter: @bpsr_ng, or call 09- 2918966.

Freedom of Information Portal


Visit Our Blog

visit our blog posts